Issue with ComboBoxCellType in Windows Server 2016 OS

Posted by: ankit.biswas on 4 November 2020, 11:09 pm EST

  • Posted 4 November 2020, 11:09 pm EST

    I noticed that on clicking on the cell with celltype set to ComboBoxCellType for the first time, it displays the list correctly, but once you select a value and again click on the cell while the cell is in edit mode, it does not displays the list again but changes the value in the cell if I click anywhere in the area where the list would have displayed

    P.S - This issue is only happening in our remote servers which are windows server 2016 OS .
    The issue didnt replicate in my local . The issue is also very infrequent .

    I found that someone from your team already experienced this issue before

    https://www.grapecity.com/forums/spread-winforms/issue-with-comboboxcelltyp#spreadarchivephelloppi-tes

    So we need to know if you can help us with this issue .

  • Replied 5 November 2020, 10:48 pm EST

    Hi Ankit,

    I have tested this with the latest Spread build (14.45.20201.0) and Windows Server 2016 OS multiple times on the local server but this behavior is not reproducible at our end.



    Could you please share with us how you are configuring the remote server along with the spread version you are using? So that this behavior can be replicated.

    And also if possible please provide us a screen recording of the issue.

    Regards,
    Kartik
  • Replied 5 November 2020, 10:51 pm EST

    Hi Kartik ,

    This issue was experienced by one of your peers as well sometime back.

    https://www.grapecity.com/forums/spread-winforms/issue-with-comboboxcelltyp#spreadarchivephelloppi-tes

    Can you check her(manpreetkaur) comment
  • Replied 8 November 2020, 11:51 pm EST

    Hi Ankit,

    We are sorry for the inconvenience but the comment you are referring to is for an old version of Spread (Spread 6) and it's possible that the issue has been fixed since then.

    So, could you please share the specific Spread version you are using? Just in case you are using an old version then please try the same with the latest build i.e Spread 14.

    https://www.grapecity.com/spread/download-product

    And also If possible please share the screen recording of the replicated issue.

    Regards,
    Kartik
  • Replied 10 November 2020, 5:49 pm EST

    Thanks for the reply

    But I checked our version is 7.35.20132.1 and the issue still persists

    But the issue is proving to be very infrequent .

    Unfortunately I am not allowed to share any screenprint But I can assure the above said is happening
  • Replied 11 November 2020, 5:09 pm EST

    Hi Ankit,

    I understand that you are not allowed to share screen recording.

    However, there have been multiple fixes regarding the ComboBox cell in the later builds and I have also tested it multiple times with the latest build i.e Spread 14 (https://www.grapecity.com/spread/download-product) but the issue didn't reproduce.

    So, could you please upgrade to the latest build and check whether the issue is reproducible with it or not?

    Just in case needed I have also attached a sample for reference.

    Regards,
    Kartik

    SpreadComboBoxCell.zip
  • Replied 11 November 2020, 6:24 pm EST

    Hi Karthik ,

    Is it possible for you test in the previous versions where this issue was probably present ,so that I can atleast know the root cause .
    If your peer had encountered previously chances are you might still get that issue if you test older versions.
    Can you please check if thats possible ?
    I am not in a position to upgrade to latest version as I dont think we have the license for the latest .
  • Replied 16 November 2020, 11:13 pm EST

    Hi Ankit,

    We apologize for the inconvenience caused but we don't support that version now.

    Therefore, you have to upgrade to the latest build because it contains fixes for all the major/minor bugs found till now. And also each new release comes with performance improvements and new features.

    So, It is recommended to upgrade to the latest build because your current build might contain the bugs which are already fixed in the later builds.

    And also to be sure regarding the fix you can test your application with the latest trial version.

    Regards,
    Kartik
Need extra support?

Upgrade your support plan and get personal unlimited phone support with our customer engagement team

Learn More

Forum Channels